Home Certification and Training Standards
PIRFO Certification and Training Standards
Friday, 25 June 2010 10:06

The intention is to set out the nature of the accreditation process for training providers and the requirements of the Observer Certification Management Committee (CMC) with regard to the quality systems that the training provider has put in place.


The PIRFO Certification Management Committee (CMC) is comprised of:

  • The Port Sampling and Observer Coordinator of the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)
  • The Observer Programmes Manager of the Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA)
  • Representatives from Micronesian, Melanesian and Polynesian states (currently fisheries observer program managers for Papua New Guinea, Federated States of Micronesia and French Polynesia)
  • An invited advisory role for the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC) Observer Program Coordinator
CMC will be co-chaired by the FFA and SPC representatives for an initial period of three years beginning 2009. Representation and the chair of CMC will be reviewed after three years in 2012 to ensure fresh perspectives and equitable regional representation are retained CMC operates as a shared regional entity resourced and funded via SPC and FFA. It is tasked with developing training programs, formal certification and effective quality assurance processes with regard to the competencies and specific tasks of regional fisheries observers.

icon PIRFO Certification And Training Policy Manual (445.79 kB)




Copyright © 2024 Oceanic Fisheries Programme. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.
   SPC Homepage | About SPC | Copyright © SPC 2010