Home TUNA FISHERIES Tuna Species Tuna Species caught in the WCPO
Tuna Species caught in the WCPO
Monday, 19 July 2010 14:01

Tuna is not a single species of fish, but rather several species.  Scientists often use the term “tuna and tuna-like fish” which includes a total of 61 species, fourteen of which are considered “true tuna”. Four species are of major commercial importance in the Pacific Islands: skipjack, yellowfin, bigeye, and albacore.

These four species of tuna are quite distinct with respect to many properties such as how they are captured, the amount presently captured, the size of the populations, and the end use of the product.



Fig. Tuna catch proportions in the WCPO

  Fig. Tuna catch in metric tons in the WCPO

Copyright © 2023 Oceanic Fisheries Programme. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.
   SPC Homepage | About SPC | Copyright © SPC 2010